top of page

They're learning I can TASTE it! They're exploring I can HEAR it! They're understanding

This lesson was was all about the five senses! The lesson was taught October 4th and 8th, 2019 for AM and PM respectively. I began by playing a fun song, the students moved, and we did the actions together. I gave attention cues, focused on each of the five senses called out during the song. We then briefly discussed the five senses, what they were and then jumped right to exploring them!

To begin, the students were asked to close their eyes and smell what was around them, the students shared some of their answers. We then felt the carpet, and the tile, and the wall, and described and compared them. We continued this process with each of the senses focusing in on one particular sense at a time. I then told the students we would dance like our senses! I used a power point to give me visual support. The students then danced to an art piece (visual), how water or a cactus would feel ( touch), their taste buds eating vegetables then ice cream (taste), They danced focusing on listening only (hearing).

I then connected the previous week's lesson on animals to help us explore the senses. For example, butterflies use their feet to taste, move like a butterfly using your dancing feet to taste! I loved seeing the students connect not only previous lessons, but other content, and so many forms of learning in differing content areas all together! I loved being able to dance and move alongside them and to absorb some of their enthusiasm for life and learning. We closed by discussing why our senses were important. It was fascinating to hear their reasoning and humbling to hear their genuine appreciation and awe for the senses we so often take for granted.

LINK TO VIDEOS:

FULL LESSON PLAN:

bottom of page